Bereichsbild
News

Awards:

Anne Josephine Dutt received the Best-Paper-Award 2017 for excellent publications of young academics  from the German Society of Gerontology and Geriatrie DGGG.

Dr. Laura I. Schmidt received the award 2017 by Südwestmetall  – The Baden-Wuerttemberg Employers’ Association of the Metal and Electrical Industry for her dissertation "Technikhandhabung im höheren Alter aus psychologischer Perspektive". You will find further information here

 

Recently published:

Schilling, O.K., Wahl, H.-W., Boerner, K., Horowitz, A., Reinhardt, J.P., Cimarolli, V.R., Brennan-Ing, M., & Heckhausen, J. (2016). Developmental regulation with progressive vision loss: Use of control strategies and affective well-being. Developmental Psychology. doi: 10.1037/pag0000099

 

 

 

 

 

Psychological Aging Research

Welcome on the homepage of the Department of Psychological Aging Research!

​​​​

               APA_2015_10_06


 

Prof. Hans-Werner Wahl takes over the role of a Senior Professor of Heidelberg University effective April 1, 2017 and he also acts as one of the directors of the Network Aging Research of Heidelberg University. New contact data are: wahl@nar.uni-heidelberg.de; phone: 06221-548127.

 

Prof. Oliver Schilling will act as deputy chair of the Department of Psychological Aging Research until a new department chair has been installed: oliver.schilling@psychologie.uni-heidelberg.de; phone: 06221-548111.

 

The aims of Psychological Aging Research

Psychological aging research focuses on change and stability of behavior (e.g. social relations), level of performance and competencies (e.g. cognitive functioning) and emotionality (e.g. positive affect) in old age.

Traditionally, transition to retirement has been used as a marker of “being old.” It is however obvious that the understanding of later life needs a life-span developmental perspective that includes midlife, but also all other previous life phases. Psychological aging research aims to increase scientific evidence on what constitutes healthy and “successful” aging as well as maladaptive and pathological variants of becoming older.

Want to know more?

  • Kessler, E.-M., Kruse, A. & Wahl, H.-W. (2014). Clinical gero-psychology: A lifespan perspective. In N. A. Pachana & K. Laidlaw (Eds.), The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology: International Perspectives (pp. 4-25). Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  • Wahl, H.-W., Deeg, D. J. H. & Litwin, H. (2013). European ageing research in the social, behavioural and health areas: a multidimensional account. European Journal of Ageing, 10(4), 261-270. doi:10.1007/s10433-013-0301-9.
  • Wahl, H.-W. & Lang. F. (2006). Psychological aging: A contextual view. In P. M. Conn (Ed.), Handbook of models for human aging (S. 881-895). Amsterdam: Elsevier.

 

Why is Psychological Aging Research of Societal Relevance?

Psychological aging research plays an important role when it comes to demographic change and transition processes (“Graying of Societies”).

For example, the results of psychological aging research have contributed greatly to a more differentiated public and personal image of current aging. A prime issue is cognitive performance. Psychological research supports the notion that important components of cognitive functioning, such as verbal abilities, life knowledge, and experiences, remain stable into very old age or may even increase.

 

 

Responsible: Email
Latest Revision: 2017-10-09
zum Seitenanfang/up

Psychologische Alternsforschung

Die Abteilung für Psychologische Alternsforschung heißt Sie herzlich Willkommen!​​

​​

               APA_2015_10_06
​​​

 

Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Wahl wirkt ab 01.04.2017 als Senior-Prof. der Universität Heidelberg und als einer der Direktoren des Netzwerks Alternsforschung (NAR) der Universität Heidelberg. Seine neuen Kontaktdaten sind: wahl@nar.uni-heidelberg.de; Tel.: 06221-548127.

 

Bis zur Neubesetzung der Professur für Psychologische Alternsforschung übernimmt Prof. Dr. Oliver Schilling die kommissarische Leitung der Abteilung: oliver.schilling@psychologie.uni-heidelberg.de; Tel.: 06221-548111.

 

Was will Psychologische Alternsforschung?

Psychologische Alternsforschung konzentriert sich auf Veränderungen und Stabilitäten von Verhalten (z.B. der Gestaltung sozialer Beziehungen), Leistungen und Kompetenzen (z.B. der kognitiven Leistungsfähigkeit) und Erleben (z.B. von positivem Affekt) im höheren Lebensalter.

Traditionell wird hierbei häufig der Übergang in den Ruhestand als Grenze des höheren Lebensalters angesetzt, jedoch ist es unmittelbar evident, dass für ein Verstehen der Ablaufdynamiken später Lebensphasen eine lebenslange Entwicklungsperspektive, die in bedeutsamer Weise das mittlere Lebensalter, aber grundsätzlich auch alle früheren Lebensphasen mit einbeziehen sollte, unabdingbar ist. Dabei beschäftigt sich Psychologische Alternsforschung sowohl mit gesundem und „erfolgreichem“ Altern wie auch mit maladaptiven und pathologischen Alternsprozessen.

Wer mehr wissen will:

  • Elsässer, V. , Miche, M. & Wahl, H.-W. (in Druck). Psychologische Aspekte des Alterns. In Reihe drze „Sachstandsbericht Altern“.
  • Kessler, E.-M., Kruse, A. & Wahl, H.-W. (2014). Clinical gero-psychology: A lifespan perspective. In N. A. Pachana & K. Laidlaw (Eds.), The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology: International Perspectives (pp. 4-25). Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  • Wahl, H.-W & Schilling, O. (2012). Das hohe Alter. In W. Schneider & U. Lindenberger (Oerter/Montada), Entwicklungspsychologie (7. Auflage, S. 307-330). Weinheim: Beltz Verlag.

 

Warum ist Psychologische Alternsforschung gesellschaftlich bedeutsam?

Psychologische Alternsforschung spielt im Kontext demographischer Wandlungsprozesse („Ergrauung der Gesellschaft“) eine wesentliche Rolle. Beispielsweise haben Ergebnisse der Psychologischen Alternsforschung viel dazu beigetragen, dass ein differenzierteres gesellschaftliches und persönliches Bild des heutigen Älterwerdens entstanden ist. So hat die Psychologische Alternsforschung gezeigt, dass wichtige Teilkomponenten der geistigen Leistungsfähigkeit, wie sprachliche Kompetenzen und Lebenswissen, bis ins hohe Alter stabil bleiben oder sogar noch ansteigen.

 

 

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 05.04.2017
zum Seitenanfang/up