Ruprecht-Karls-Universitaet Heidelberg

News

New research project

Dr. Anna-Lena Schubert received a grant to study the neurocognitive process parameters of cognitive abilities.

Recent Publications

Zaehringer, J. K., Falquez, R., Schubert, A.-L., Nees, F., & Barnow, S. (2018). Neural Correlates of Reappraisal Considering Working Memory Capacity and Cognitive Flexibility. Brain Imaging and Behavior. doi: 10.1007/s11682-017-9788-6
Schubert, A.-L., Hagemann, D., & Frischkorn, G. T. (2017). Is general intelligence little more than the speed of higher-order processing? Journal of Experimental Psychology: General, 146, 1498-1512. doi: 10.1037/xge0000325

Research Topics

Assessing the relationship between mental speed and general intelligence on a neuro-cognitive level

In this project we investigate whether individual differences in mental speed give rise to individual differences in general intelligence. For this purpose, we expand the measurement of mental speed beyond the measurement of response times by using mathematical models of response times and event-related potentials (ERPs). We study if mental speed can be considered a property of the person that is stable over time. Moreover, we investigate the factor structure of mental speed, i.e. we analyze how strongly a general mental speed factor influences mental speed in a variety of paradigms. Finally, we analyze which components in the stream of information processing (e.g., the speed of encoding, the speed of memory access, the speed of decision making, the speed of motor responses) are most strongly related to general intelligence by decomposing the stream of information processing with diffusion models and ERPs.

Related publications:
Frischkorn, G. T., Schubert, A.-L., Neubauer, A. B., Hagemann, D. (2016) The Worst Performance Rule as Moderation: New Methods for Worst Performance Analysis. Journal of Intelligence, 4, 9. doi:10.3390/jintelligence4030009. (PDF)
Schubert, A.-L., Hagemann, D., Voss, A., Schankin, A., & Bergmann, K. (2015). Decomposing the Relationship between Mental Speed and Mental Abilities. Intelligence, 51, 28-46. doi:10.1016/j.intell.2015.05.002

(back to research topics)
zum Seitenanfang

Editor: Martin Lingnau
Last Change: 28.07.2016

Ruprecht-Karls-Universitaet Heidelberg

Neueste Veröffentlichungen

Schubert, A.-L., Hagemann, D., & Frischkorn, G. T. (accepted). Is general intelligence little more than the speed of higher-order processing? Journal of Experimental Psychology: General.
Schubert, A.-L., Hagemann, D., Voss, A., & Bergmann, K. (2017). Evaluating the model fit of diffusion models with the root mean square error of approximation. Journal of Mathematical Psychology, 77, 29-45. doi: 10.1016/j.jmp.2016.08.004

Forschungsthemen

Untersuchung des Zusammenhangs zwischen Informationsverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit und allgemeiner Intelligenz

In diesem Projekt untersuchen wir, ob individuelle Unterschiede in Informationsverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit mit individuellen Unterschieden in allgemeiner Intelligenz assoziiert sind. Zu diesem Zweck erweitern wir die Messung von Informationsverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit über Reaktionszeiten hinaus durch die Verwendung mathematischer Modelle von Reaktionszeitverteilung und durch ereigniskorrelierte Potentiale (EKPs). Wir untersuchen, ob Informationsverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit als eine zeitlich stabile Personeneigenschaft betrachtet werden kann. Darüber hinaus untersuchen wir die Faktorstruktur von Informationsgeschwindigkeit, d.h. wir analysieren, wie stark ein genereller Faktor Informationsverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit in verschiedenen Aufgaben beeinflusst. Außerdem untersuchen wir, welche Komponenten der Informationsverarbeitung (z.B. die Enkodierungsgeschwindigkeit, die Geschwindigkeit des Gedächtnisabrufes, die Entscheidungsgeschwindigkeit, die Geschwindigkeit motorischer Reaktionen) am stärksten mit allgemeiner Intelligenz assoziiert sind, indem wir den Strom der Informationsverarbeitung durch Diffusionsmodelle und EKPs in spezifische Prozesse zerlegen.

Zugehörige Publikationen:
Frischkorn, G. T., Schubert, A.-L., Neubauer, A. B., Hagemann, D. (2016) The Worst Performance Rule as Moderation: New Methods for Worst Performance Analysis. Journal of Intelligence, 4, 9. doi:10.3390/jintelligence4030009. (PDF)
Schubert, A.-L., Hagemann, D., Voss, A., Schankin, A., & Bergmann, K. (2015). Decomposing the Relationship between Mental Speed and Mental Abilities. Intelligence, 51, 28-46. doi:10.1016/j.intell.2015.05.002

(zurück zu den Forschungsthemen)
zum Seitenanfang

Seitenbearbeiter: Martin Lingnau
Letzte Änderung: 28.07.2016